They call me Sam. Who’s they, you ask?

Well, let’s start from the beginning. I’m Sam, and I’m a mouse. I live in the University Union and was discovered by my new friends in room 217. They were a little bit scared of me at first, which is silly because I’m so small. But everyone here is so nice and it’s kind of like living in a city with all of the exciting things going on, so I had no choice but to stay!

They’re used to me now. Once they realized I’m no ordinary mouse, I think it made them a little bit less apprehensive. I like to write, and I love being a part of such an active campus! I wanted a chance to share my adventures here at Towson, so I became a part of Student Activities’ new Marketing Team as a blogger.

So here I am. In an attempt to perfect my blogging, I’ve registered as a Mouse Communications major and will be working to get you the scoop on events and news about Towson. I’ll also be blogging about other things you want to know about, and maybe add something fun here and there… I hear students like contests, sharing pictures, and something called “memes”?

However, since the campus is so large and I’m so small (and since Doc, everyone’s favorite feline friend doesn’t take too kindly to mice), I have put together an awesome blogging trio to assist me with my reporting. Here they are:

Dana (left), Cori (center), Elaina (right)

Now I’m going to let my friends introduce themselves to you! First we have Dana, who I took a speech class with. Being small and quiet, I used to hide in the back of the classroom, but by the time a few weeks had passed, she had helped me to become the outspoken mouse I am today.

Name: Dana Kobilinsky
Major: Mass Communication
Year: Junior
Fun Fact: I love visiting the puppy place on York called Just Puppies. I go there almost every weekend to cuddle with the puppies.
Twitter: @danasaur92
Favorite Class: COMM 131 (Public speaking) It was like going to a comedy show every Thursday night!

Hey guys! I’m Dana Kobilinsky and I am SO excited! I just won the lottery and I’m moving to New York City to start my own magazine. What am I still doing here? I better start packing!
Just kidding! I’m not going anywhere and I definitely didn’t win the lottery—I wish I did. And I’m not so sure I’d leave Towson so fast, especially with this cool new job I have blogging for Student Activities.
I’ve always wanted to write! I’ve also always wanted to color but you can’t really make a career out of that.
When I’m not writing, I’m usually taking my friends on adventures. Once, we took a three-hour bus trip to the movies, and the theater was only half an hour away! The adventure made it fun.
I hope to go on adventures at Towson with you guys, too. There’s so much stuff to participate in. I can’t wait to get started!

Next, we have my friend Cori. She used to work for my distant cousin Mickey, who recommended her for our team.

Name: Cori Caskey
Major: Mass Communication
Year: Super Senior
Fun Fact: Sam isn’t the first mouse I’ve worked for- I spent some time two years ago working for “The Mouse” in Orlando!
Twitter: @CharmCityCMC
Favorite Class: Photography! Spending time in the darkroom working was the most interesting and relaxing experience ever.

Hi! My name is Cori, and I’m another fabulous part of the Student Activities Marketing team! I’m on the Advertising track in the Mass Communication major, but I’ve also studied Art and Hospitality Management at my previous colleges. I transferred to Towson one year ago and I love it! In addition to being a full time student, I work for Student Activities, have an internship at an advertising agency, and decorate cakes at a pretty cool ice cream shop. Needless to say, I’m a pretty busy person. I am also the Public Relations Chair for my service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega (it’s alright- it’s coed).
I was born and raised right here in Baltimore, and have an enormous amount of hometown pride. I also have a spot in my heart for Florida, but when I lived there I made sure to take a can of Old Bay and have Berger cookies shipped to my apartment on a regular basis!
I can’t wait to help share Sam’s experiences here at Towson to you, and I’m pumped to be part of such a cool marketing team!

Finally, we have Elaina. I met her when I was ordering my standard cheeseburger (hold the burger) at McDonalds, where she works.

Name: Elaina Clarke
Major: English/Mass Communication
Year: Junior
Fun Fact: I’ve never been out of the country besides Canada…yeah I need to travel this Summer!
Twitter: @EG_Clarke
Favorite class: This is pretty tough, but I’d have to say Acting I freshman year. This class taught me to be more confident in myself and learn how to loosen up and just have fun.

Hey everybody! My name is Elaina Clarke, and I’m surprised to say that this is my third year at Towson. It seems like just yesterday I was sitting through Honors College orientation, wondering where the next four years would take me. After adding and dropping a few times, I now have a fixed double major of English and Mass Communication. I’ve always loved writing, so these majors are perfect for me. Though the past few years have been busy, nothing could have prepared me for this semester. Between five classes, an internship and three jobs, I don’t have much time to take a breath! But I still manage to participate in as many on-campus activities and events as I can. There seems to always be something fun going on around here, which helps lighten the stress load just a bit. I’m so excited to be able to be a part of Sam’s team this year!

Now that you’ve gotten to know a little bit about us, we can’t wait to get out onto campus and get to see you at the many events going on! The people I live with put together something called “Weekends at Towson,” which is pretty cool because it means something’s happening for students every week! There’s Bingo Night tonight, and tomorrow there’s a concert in Paws! It’s featuring Johnny Graham and the Groove and Stacked Like Pancakes, and I can’t wait to see all of you there!

I’m so excited about all of these events and finally getting my blog started, but it would be even cooler if I could hear from you! If there’s something you want me to talk about later, something funny you want to share, or even something you want to ask me (I know, a blogging mouse is pretty interesting!) please leave me a comment below!

Sam